Oats

Me and oats have a long story. However, in the beginning, many many years ago, in another life, I used to make them with milk and lots of sugar. It was a too heavy breakfast, but back then I didn’t even care about eating healthy.

Now they are part of my daily life, in many different ways, but the one I truly like is oatmeals, which I take for breakfast almost everyday.

I put a pot half filled with water in the stove, pour whole oats (I don’t measure it, I just make sure there is only water left for a the remaining ingredients – we don’t want it to be too liquid), rye and wheat and stir it. This is our basic oatmeal and it takes about 5 minutes to cook it.

making oats

But I always add some other ingredients, so I don’t get bored of eating the same thing all the time. You can add:

  • Grated coconut
  • Nuts/almonds/peanuts/…
  • Cocoa
  • Seeds: pumpkin, flax, sunflower, chia, poppy…

I keep it in a tupperware in the fridge and take two or three table spoons of it each morning. After reheating it, I tend to add fruit, some other seeds, peanut butter, etc.

It is super quick to make, it tastes great and is very healthy as it keeps you satisfied for a long time, it is great for intestinal transit and it is the best option, comparing to comercial cereals.

oats banana and jam
With banana, chili jam and quark
oats banana and strawberry
With banana, strawberries and mango
oats banana peanut butter
With banana and peanut butter – a winning match
oats with punpkin seeds and mago
With mango and pumpkin seeds
Leave a Reply

