Fit journey

(English version below)

camila guper
Camila Guper – foto daqui

Já não sei quando foi que descobri que gostava mais de corpos musculados do que de corpos magros. Embora essa admiração já estivesse latente há vários anos, só no início do verão passado, sensivelmente, é que decidi fazer um plano de treino diferente, mais eficaz e intenso, não para passar horas no ginásio, não para poder comer um croissant no dia seguinte, mas para mudar o meu corpo e moldá-lo para aquilo que defini na minha cabeça. Tudo bem, eu queria ser uma Camila Guper, mas por muito definida que essa ideia esteja na minha cabeça, não me parece que venha a acontecer. Quer porque a minha vida não é feita de desporto desde que acordo até que me deito, quer porque eu não tenho a fisionomia, nem o metabolismo, nem os genes nem, na verdade, nada que seja da Camila Guper.

Então achei que me bastava fazer o básico: seguir o plano de treino e eliminar gorduras e açúcares da alimentação. Isto, a bem dizer, é o básico. Mas o básico não chega para atingir os objetivos que eu quero. Sim, notei bastantes diferenças e sim, senti-me melhor, com mais força e energia. No entanto, à medida que aprendia um pouco sobre o assunto, fui descobrindo que havia ainda muito mais para perceber, como uma espécie de teia de ideias e de conhecimentos.

Neste processo há duas grandes dificuldades: manter o foco e saber discernir as teorias corretas das que não se aplicam a nós. E ainda hoje, um ano depois, muita coisa estudada, perguntada e aprendida (e de tanto ter torturado com perguntas tolas a melhor cunhada do mundo – sim, é a única que tenho, mas em tempos não foi, por isso sei mesmo do que falo!), continuo a ter um mundo fit inteiro por conhecer. Ainda que na maior parte do tempo seja tudo extremamente fascinante, há momentos em que me deixo cair de desespero e só sei dizer: não percebo nada disto!

camila guper
Camila Guper – photo from here

I don’t remember the exact time when I found out I prefer a body with muscles defined, rather than a thin body. Although I already had it in me for several years, it was not only in the beginning of last Summer that I decided to make a new, improved, more efficient and arduous training plan. My goal was, now, not to spend long hours in the gym, not to be able to eat a croissant on the next day, mas to change my body and to shape it into the idea that I had defined in my head.

Ok, ok. I wanted to be a Camilla Guper look alike, but no matter how strongly defined that image is in my head, I don’t think that will ever become real. Whether because my life is not based on sports since the moment I wake up to when I go to bed, or because I don’t have her physiognomy, metabolism, genes… or anything at all, actually.

I thought, then, that all it took was for me to respect the basic steps: to follow my training plan and to delete grass and sugar from my eating habits. However, the basic itself is not enough for me to reach my own goals. Yes, I have noticed some nice changes and yes, I started to feel a lot better, with more energy and stronger, however, as I learnt more about this subject, I ralised there was still a whole lot more to find out, like a web made out of ideas and knowledge.

Throughout this process I have felt two major difficulties: to keep my focus and to be able to distinguish the right theories from the ones that don’t apply to me. A whole year has passed since the beginning of my fit journey, I have studied, asked and learnt a lot (and I tortured the best sister in law in the world – ok, I only have one, but I already had more and I really know what I am talking about! – with silly questions) and there is still a fit world ahead of me, waiting for me to discover it. Although everything seems to be incredibly fascinating, there are moments when despair takes over me and all I can say is: I don’t understand anything at all!

Leave a Reply

