London chronicles – 1

[Versão portuguesa em baixo]

Don’t make plans.

At least, don’t get too attached to it. That’s my advice, especially after these past Summer holidays when, due to a sequence of events, I ended up buying a last hour ticket to London (through Madrid, which was the better option, but we’ll ignore that detail).

I didn’t like London – it reminded me of the worst year of my life, it brought me too many heartbreaking memories I wanted not to forget, but not to be reminded of. But that’s where my brother and my sister in law live, so I accepted their invitation to spend some days with them. And that was the only thing that made me eager to go: being with them, even if it meant staying home alone all day, waiting for them to finish work.

However, things were quite the opposite of what I had imagined and I ended up having the best and most inner peaceful (if that’s a thing) days I had ever experienced.

My mornings begun with a workout at their home gym. Then I had a healthy lunch, whether with them, whether watching some “Friends” episodes. During the afternoons, I went for a walk no matter where and, in the evening, I had another workout: a cycling class, a boxing class, a muay thai class or just a regular workout at their home gym, with them.

On top of that, they are the best cooking couple I know, so I always had amazing and very healthy meals. As a plus, they taught me a little bit more about eating and training, so by the time my holidays were over, I was in the best body shape so far, with a new eating and workout plan for the next couple of months.

So that’s it: don’t get too attached to your plans – they will change and that is ok. In fact, that may be great.

Não faças planos.

Pelo menos, não fiques demasiado colado a eles. É o meu conselho, sobretudo depois destas minhas férias de verão, em que, como resultado de uma série de acontecimentos, acabei por comprar um bilhete de última hora para Londres (com escala em Madrid, a melhor hipótese tendo em conta o adiantado da data).

Não tinha uma boa relação com Londres – estava associado ao pior ano da minha vida e trazia-me demasiadas memórias angustiantes das quais, ainda que não as queira esquecer, não quero ser constantemente recordada. Mas é lá que vivem o meu irmão e a minha cunhada, por isso aceitei o convite deles para lá passar uns dias e era essa a única coisa que me aliciava a ir: estar com eles, mesmo que isso implicasse passar o dia todo fechado em casa à espera de que voltassem do trabalho.

Mas tudo se revelou bastante diferente daquilo que eu tinha previsto e acabei por passar os mais agradáveis e tranquilizantes dias que alguma vez vivi.

Todas as manhãs começavam com um treino no ginásio de casa, seguido de um almoço quer com eles, quer a ver alguns episódios de “Friends”. À tarde aproveitava para passear por Londres, ao que se seguia mais um treino, fosse aula de cycling, de boxe, de muay thai ou mais um treino em casa, com eles.

A cereja no topo do bolo é que eles são o melhor casal-cozinheiro que conheço, pelo que as minhas refeições eram todas ótimas e super saudáveis. Como bónus, ainda me ensinaram um pouco mais sobre alimentação, metabolismo e treino, de forma que, no final das férias, estava na minha melhor forma e trouxe comigo um plano alimentar e de treino para os próximos meses.

Portanto, é isso: não te prendas demasiado aos planos – eles vão mudar e não faz mal. Na verdade, pode até ser pelo melhor.

Leave a Reply

