London chronicles – 2

[Versão portuguesa em baixo]

20160825_132656.jpg

There was an animosity between me and London for several reasons: some of them I already knew, some others I only figured out while out there. Therefore, I felt a little bit choking while waiting for the train that would bring me to my brother’s home, even though I had Afrojack singing to my ears “hey, will you stay with me?”. On that moment, with the past being brought to me by many sensorial triggers, I felt tears burning my eyes. I was stronger than them, though.

My plan was to workout, read, write and sleep but, as I had already told you, that wasn’t exactly what happened and on the very first day I had lunch with my brother near London Bridge. Ironically, it was the first time I had ever ate at Nando’s and I was positively surprised. Chicken is always a good idea, but those seasonings and the side dishes (I ordered a beans salad) were delicious.

As it was near Borough Market, and although I already knew it from other times, I fought my own inertia and my fears and played the tourist for the next couple of hours. While drinking a veggies juice, I walked by weird food stands (ostrich, crocodile, koala, etc. hamburgers; healthy snacks; detox juices;…) until I reached the river, near the pirates boat.

It had already been raining and even though it seemed like rain hadn’t left for good, I let my legs lead me along the river, through Southbank. I thought I was going to London Eye but, in fact, I was going in the opposite direction, which was a great unconscious decision, as I didn’t go back there again. Plus, rain disappeared and the sun kept my self-evaluating thoughts company.

My goal for my days in London was to clear my mind and to heal my heart.

For the very first time in a long time, I felt like I was starting to walk towards that outcome.

20160825_132656.jpg

Havia uma grande animosidade entre mim e Londres por diversas razões, algumas das quais já conhecia, outras das quais só me apercebi mesmo enquanto passeava por lá. Por conseguinte, foi com um aperto estrangulante na garganta que me encontrei na plataforma à espera do comboio que me levaria para casa do meu irmão, com o Afrojack a cantar-me aos ouvidos “hey, will you stay with me?”. Naquele momento, com estímulos sensoriais que me evocavam o passado, as lágrimas começaram a teimar em cair. Não as deixei.

O meu plano era treinar, ler, escrever e dormir mas, como já disse, não foi bem isso que aconteceu e logo no primeiro dia fui almoçar com o meu irmão perto de London Bridge. Curiosamente, foi a primeira vez que fui a um Nando’s e fiquei agradavelmente surpreendida. Frango é sempre uma boa escolha, mas aqueles temperos e os acompanhamentos (pedi uma salada de grãos) estavam deliciosos.

Como ficava perto do Borough market e apesar de já o conhecer de outras andanças, lutei contra a minha inércia e os meus medos e armei-me em turista durante umas horas. De sumo de vegetais nas mãos passei por entre os stands de comidas alternativas (hamburger de avestruz ou crocodilo, koala, etc; bombons de coisas saudáveis; sumos detox;…) até chegar ao rio, junto ao barco dos piratas.

Já tinha chovido e ainda que parecesse prometer mais chuva, deixei que as pernas me comandassem ao longo do rio, por Southbank. Embora achasse que estava a ir em direção ao London Eye, estava, na realidade, a ir na direção oposta, o que se revelou uma escolha inconsciente muito boa, já que não voltaria ali e descobri uns caminhos encantadores. A chuva desapareceu e o sol fez companhia aos meus pensamentos introspetivos.

Tinha como objetivo para Londres limpar a minha mente e curar o meu coração.

Pela primeira vez em muito tempo, senti-me a dar os primeiros passos até essa meta.

Leave a Reply

