London chronicles – 4

[Versão portuguesa em baixo]
20160830_145923-1.jpg

London, despite of my opinion on its beauty, was a going back to a painful past. Two years ago, back there, I entered to worst period of my life and I am just leaving it right now. I didn’t think I was ready to go back there just yet.

Call me crazy, but I decided I would go to the place I lived there, just to redo my daily steps, in an attempt to make amends with the past, with my decisions, with the world and, most importantly, with myself.

So there I was, in a Finchley Road just as I remembered it. The Tiger store I had bought some home stuff, the O2 mall with the Sainsbury’s market I used to go on a regular basis, the coffee shop I tried to work at once and… my house.

20160830_153600

It was never a home, I didn’t even make the necessary effort for that. It was just a house, full of shared bedrooms, where I used to cry every day during my stay in London. I couldn’t even enjoy our terrace properly. I just hated it. And I hated my life.

More than two years later, I stood there, in front of that door behind which there was my home, for a little while. I took some photos and I felt inner peace coming over. Under the London sun, I forgave me and the mean people and events that had brought me to the deepest unhappiness I have ever felt.

It was, indeed, the right moment to go there: I was ready for the shock and it pushed me forward.

20160830_145923-1.jpg

Independentemente da minha opinião quanto à sua beleza, Londres representava um regresso a um passado doloroso. Foi há dois anos, naquela mesma cidade, que entrei no pior período da minha vida, do qual estou apenas agora a conseguir emergir. Achava, portanto, que não estava minimamente pronta para lá voltar.

Pode não fazer sentido, mas meti na cabeça que queria ir até à zona onde vivi, apenas para refazer os meus passos quotidianos, numa tentativa de fazer as pazes com o passado, as minhas decisões, com o mundo e, mais importante, comigo mesma.

Foi assim que me encontrei em Finchley Road, exatamente como me lembrava dela. Passei pela Tiger onde comprara artigos para a casa, o centro comercial O2 com o supermercado Sainsbury’s aonde ia quase diariamente, o café para onde tentei ir trabalhar… a minha casa.

20160830_153600

Nunca foi mais do que um dormitório, nunca o permiti nem sequer fiz o esforço. Era apenas uma casa, cheia de quartos partilhados, onde chorei todos os dias da minha estadia em Londres. Nem sequer consegui aproveitar devidamente o terraço. Odiava aquilo. E odiava a minha vida.

Mais de dois anos depois, fiquei ali de pé, em frente à porta que escondia aquela que fora a minha casa durante uns tempos. Enquanto tirava algumas fotografias, senti uma paz de espírito tranquilizante a tomar conta de mim. Debaixo do sol londrino, perdoei-me, bem como às pessoas e aos eventos que me conduziram à infelicidade mais profunda que senti até hoje.

Foi, afinal, o momento certo para ir até lá: não só estava pronta para o confronto, como esse mesmo confronto me impeliu a seguir este meu caminho.

Leave a Reply

