Pourquoi Paris?

[Versão portuguesa abaixo]

Why this crazy love for Paris?

In fact, this is a very common story that is only special for me, I guess. It is an Erasmus tale, dating back to September 2007, when I landed in Paris for the very first time. It was rainy, it was dark, I was there for a whole school year all alone. I got terrified, regretting my decision and wanting to go back that exact moment.

Slowly, I discovered the most beautiful city I have ever been to, populated by so many different cultures and well-dressed people. I got to be a part of some of its traditions, I visited more museums and art galleries than never, I got to taste yummy foods and I had the great opportunity to frequently pass by wonderful places, the ones you see on tv and postcards but were, actually, part of my daily life. Slowly, it made me also grow up and discover myself.

However, Paris was not just that. It had a hidden bonus waiting for me at the end of my stay: it brought to me the true love of a meaningful part of my life. Even though our forever lasted six years and he might think of it as lost time, I don’t. At all.

So Paris means adventure, discovery, destiny and love. Cliché much?

 Years later, when I moved to Lisbon, to a new job, and was offered the opportunity to go often to Paris, I didn’t think twice. I said yes, because I believe we should go back to the places where we were once happy, no matter how much life had changed in the meantime.

Truth is… it has been an amazing experience. Sometimes I cry, I do, but out of happiness: past and present.

The last time I’ve been there, in the beginning of October, I went back to the Cité Universitaire, in the 14th arrondissement, where I lived in 2007/2008. On one hand, it was like I had never left, I felt home, I knew the ways by heart, I remembered everything. On the other hand, it amazed me how easily I had just assumed that it was mine, it was my daily life, so I had ignored the true beauty of it: the trees, the houses, the floors, the surroundings. It is too easy to do that: at first you get impressed, but with time you just forget how lucky you are, you lose the ability to truly appreciate what was offered to you.

Looking at Stade Charléty, standing in the middle of Boulevard Jourdan, I cried and laughed, because I was lucky enough to had lived in Paris when I was young. I just couldn’t figure out back then that it would probably never get any better than that. Or even as good as that.

20161004_175353.jpg
This was my big effort in order to avoid crying

Porquê este amor louco por Paris?

Na verdade, trata-se de uma história normalíssima, especial apenas para mim, acho. É um conto de Erasmus, que remonta a setembro de 2007, quando aterrei pela primeira vez em Paris. Chovia, era de noite, acabava de ali chegar para um ano letivo inteiro sozinha. Fiquei petrificada, arrependi-me da decisão que ali me levara e quis mesmo muito poder voltar para casa.

Pouco a pouco fui descobrindo a cidade mais linda em que já estive, habitada por imensas culturas diversas e por pessoas bem vestidas. Tive a oportunidade de fazer parte de algumas das suas tradições, visitei imensos museus e galerias de arte, experimentei comida deliciosa e tive a sorte de passar com frequência por locais incríveis, daqueles que se veem na televisão e nos postais, mas que faziam parte do meu dia-a-dia. Paralelamente, ajudou-me a crescer e a descobrir-me.

Só que Paris não foi só isso. Tinha um trunfo na manga à minha espera no final da minha estadia: trouxe-me o amor de uma parte significativa da minha vida. Mesmo que o nosso para sempre tenha durado cerca de seis anos e que ele agora possa dar esse tempo como perdido, eu não. De todo.

Paris significa, então, aventura, descoberta, destino e amor. Quão cliché!

 Anos mais tarde, quando me mudei para Lisboa e comecei um novo trabalho em que me foi dada a oportunidade de ir a Paris com alguma frequência, não precisei de pensar duas vezes, porque sou da opinião de que devemos voltar aos sítios onde fomos felizes, independentemente de quanto a vida tenha mudado entretanto.

E a verdade é que tem sido uma experiência incrível. Às vezes faz-me chorar, mas de felicidade: passada e presente.

Da última vez em que lá estive, no início de outubro, voltei à Cité Universitaire, no arrondissement 14, onde vivi entre 2007 e 2008. Por um lado, foi como se nunca tivesse saído de lá, já que me lembrava de todas as casas, sabia os caminhos de cor e senti-me em casa. Por outro, o contraste agora/na altura fez-me ficar admirada com a facilidade com que nos esquecemos de apreciar as coisas incríveis que temos à nossa disposição, apenas porque estão lá, fazem parte do nosso quotidiano e acabamos por interioriza-las de tal forma que passamos a ignorar a sua beleza. Foi o que me aconteceu ali naquele momento, a apreciar as casas, as árvores, o chão, os arredores e mesmo o Stade Charléty: dei por mim parada no meio do Boulevard Jourdan a chorar e a rir porque tive a sorte imensa de viver em Paris enquanto era nova. Na altura não soube, apenas, aperceber-me de que provavelmente nunca será melhor do que aquilo. Talvez nunca seja, sequer, tão bom como aquilo.

20161004_175353.jpg

Leave a Reply

