Sprechen Sie Deutsch?

[Versão portuguesa em baixo]

Learning German was something I have been interested in for quite a while. I love speaking other languages (I am a translator, fyi) and it makes me a little bit awkward going to a country and not understanding what they say. Plus, my Godmother, whom I admired a lot, lived in Germany since I knew her, which made me really want to be able to talk to her in her chosen language.

It ended up never being possible, too unfortunately, but moving this new job offered me the possibility of learning German.

Stop! People have always warned be of how difficult it was. I shouldn’t have taken it as an overstatement. Really!

It may have some similarities with English, especially when they tell you “hey, note that Mach (which must be said “mah”) sounds like make”. Oh, yeah, that is obvious. Now that you told me that and I can make an inverse Biles move with my brain!

I’m only finishing unit 3, meaning that I didn’t even get to the declensions (that doesn’t scare me, as I studied Latin for 5 years, but we’ll see about that when we get there!). I have, however, got acquainted with the articles (der, die and das), which are completely random. There’s no rule for that nor any similarity with anything else.

Words are funny, though. German is, in fact, an interesting business language, but come on! How am I supposed to remember that früstücken means eating breakfast? My brain has a knot very hard to untie.

I don’t think I will ever be able to communicate in German, but at least… well, that’s pretty much just it.

Já há muito que queria aprender alemão, não só porque adoro saber falar outras línguas (sou tradutora, devo dizer), mas também porque me faz sentir um pouco alheada quando vou a um país e não entendo nada do que lá se diz. Para além disso, a minha Madrinha, que eu admirava imenso, viveu na Alemanha desde que a conheci, o que me fez querer muito saber comunicar com ela na língua que ela tinha escolhido.

Muito infelizmente, acabou por nunca ser possível, mas neste novo trabalho foi-me oferecida a possibilidade de ter aulas de alemão.

Parou tudo! Quando alguém vos disser que o alemão é uma língua ultra difícil, não duvidem nem pensem que é um exagero. Acreditem!

Ok, talvez até tenha algumas parecenças com o inglês, sobretudo quando nos dizem “então, repara que Mach (que se lê mah) se parece com make. Claro! É totalmente óbvio. Agora que me dizes isso e que eu consigo que o meu cérebro dê três mortais encarpados para tentar encontrar a semelhança.

Estou ainda no final da unidade 3, o que quer dizer que ainda nem sequer cheguei às declinações (na verdade, depois de ter estudado latim durante cinco anos, não me assustam, mas veremos quando lá chegar!). Já tive, contudo, contactos com os artigos definidos (der, die e das) e percebi facilmente que são completamente aleatórios. Não há qualquer tipo de regra nem semelhança com absolutamente nada.

As palavras, por seu lado, são engraçadas. De facto, o alemão é uma língua de negócios muito interessante, mas sejamos honestos: como é que é suposto eu lembrar-me que früstücken significa tomar o pequeno-almoço? O meu cérebro deu um nó e não o vejo a desfazer-se tão cedo.

Não acredito que alguma vez venha a ser capaz de comunicar em alemão, mas ao menos… Não, é só mesmo isto.

Leave a Reply

