Physiothings

[Versão portuguesa abaixo]

There is a problem which I don’t know if it is very common or if it only affects a small group of people. In any case, I belong to it, whether it has a numerous clausus restriction or not, although I’d rather not, as it brings me hard suffering.

Just as what happened yesterday, when, before going to bed, I had to stop by the bathroom, at the exact moment when my housemate arrived home from school. Once I sit in the toilet, I heard her asking me if I would take long. I said no and waited for her to go back to her stuff. No. She explained she really had to pee. I answered that me too, but I would be quick, and remained still, listening to her being almost but not completely silent on the other side of the closed door. Listening to me. Pressing me. Refraining my ability of doing what I had to do and to leave the bathroom free for her.

I tried really hard to find a polite way to tell her I needed her to get out of there, but fortunately I heard her walking to the kitchen. Finally, the relieve.

I try to be quick, people, especially in public bathrooms, but if you talk to me or if you glue your ear to the door, I am paralyzed. In deep agony.

 

Sei que há um problema que não sei se é comum ou se apenas um pequeno grupo de pessoas dele padece. Eu incluo-me nele, seja ou não limitado, embora preferisse ser excluída, já que me causa algum sofrimento e dor.

Um exemplo disso foi o que aconteceu ontem, quando antes de me deitar fui à casa de banho, precisamente no momento em que a minha colega de casa chegou das aulas. Assim que me sentei na sanita, ela perguntou-me se ia demorar muito. Respondi-lhe que não e esperei que voltasse à vidinha dela. Não. Explicou-me que estava aflitinha para fazer xixi. Respondi que eu também, mas que já saía e fiquei ali imóvel, a ouvi-la quase mas não totalmente inaudível do lado de lá da porta. À escuta. A pressionar-me. A reprimir a minha capacidade de fazer o que tinha a fazer e desavagar a casa de banho.

Esforcei-me por encontrar uma forma delicada de lhe explicar que precisava que ela saísse dali, mas felizmente acabei por ouvir os passos dela em direção à cozinha e, finalmente, o alívio.

Leave a Reply

